The 6 ways I stay driven.

I’m but 23 years of age. But people who know me often get amused at how laser focused I am at my dreams when I really should just be enjoying my youth sipping mai tai’s on the beach. Instead, I’m on the constant prowl of becoming better than who I am the day before.

I’ve always been asked about my secrets at becoming & staying driven.

Here they are:

1. You are who you surround yourself with.

When people say that you’re who you spend your time with, they’re not kidding. Time is the only commodity that you can’t buy.
If you’re ready to reach for the stars, find like minded individuals who are hardworking, driven and passionate.

Trust me on this: The driven will drive you further.

2. Cut out what doesn’t matter.

Like I’ve said, time is the only commodity that you can’t buy. And that’s one belief that always keeps me making smart decisions on the way I choose to live.

Distractions and time wasters are the #1 barrier to you getting to where you want to be. TV and gossip mags may be fun and entertaining, but be real with yourself, reward yourself only if you deserve it.

3. Read, read & read.

I’d be honest and tell you that my flashy honors degree barely taught me anything that I don’t already know. Neither did hours and hours in lectures and tutorials helped me get my shiny straight A’s.

I am who I am today because I’m hopelessly greedy for knowledge. I’ve a list of must reads, but let’s save that for another day.

The essence is this, to get far in life, you better have a wealth of knowledge, or at least be passionately curious about the world.

4. Don’t just read; Act.

While point #3 just encouraged my favourite habit of reading – it could also be the devil. And here’s why.

Many people read articles about business, or watch hours and hours of shark tank or the biggest loser simply to feel more productive. But here’s a reality check, if you don’t put what you’ve read into real actions, let’s face it – you’re just procrastinating.

5. Know WHY.

Some people do it for the money. Some people do it for the fame.

Everyone has different motivations as to why they get up in the morning. Now, it’s not my business to judge you based on your motivations.

My job is to ensure that you do the grunt work and figure out why you’re hustling.

It’s the same thing with everything you start on. Unless you know why you’re doing what you’re doing, you’re going to lose that initial passion and drive.

Save the fizzle, and figure out the why fast. And once you’ve figured it out, remind yourself of that reason everyday to keep yourself going.

6. The power of visualisation.

When I close my eyes, my mind visualises the cityscape of New York City. I worked there for awhile a few years back, and it is my dream to move back there and carve an empire for myself. When times get challenging, the image burns and fuels me to keep fighting every, single, day.

When you close your eyes, envision yourself at where you want to be.

It could be a shiny porsche, it could be yourself after losing 20kgs of fat, it could be yourself with a happy and secured family with a beautiful home.

Find that image that will get you moving, and never let it out of your sight.

 
25
Kudos
 
25
Kudos

Now read this

Have you ever stared so deep into nothingness

as you lose yourself into a world, most probably reverberating in grayscale. One puff, two puff, the smoke paints a liquid script in the air. Air – you breathe, but you can’t breathe. When did you get so lost? When did you stop losing... Continue →